Heathcote is committed to a child-centred and co-ordinated approach to safeguarding. Safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children is everyone’s responsibility. 

Safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children is defined as: protecting children from maltreatment; preventing impairment of children’s health or development; ensuring that children grow up in circumstances consistent with the provision of safe and effective care; and taking action to enable all children to have the best outcomes. (KCSIE, 2016) 

All staff at Heathcote commit to the statutory guidance “Keeping Children Safe in Education” (KCSIE) updated 5th September 2016. All staff must read at least part one of that guidance.  If any colleague does not understand the guidance or would like help to fulfil their role as set out in the guidance, they should seek advice from the Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) or one of the Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leads (DDSL). 

The DSL and DDSLs form the Safeguarding team.  This team meet regularly to discuss student issues and consists of: 

  • Mr Jason Bookatz      (Named DSL)
  • Mrs Zoë Cozens         (DDSL)
  • Ms Janette Powell      (DDSL)
  • Ms Mary Ellison          (DDSL)
  • Mr Aiden McCarney    (DDSL) 

A school Governor is appointed as Safeguarding Governor at the first full Governors meeting of the year, normally the last Monday in September.  In 2016-17 Ms Lorna Grant is the named Safeguarding & LAC Governor.