Heathcote Boys Take The Double

Heathcote Y10 football squad 1

The Year 10 Boys Football Team from Heathcote School & Science College in Chingford completed the Waltham Forest Football League, followed by the League Cup in emphatic fashion dispatching Lammas School by 6-1 in the final. Their squad made light work of the highly rated Lammas side.

Heathcote emerged undefeated in the League containing Frederick Bremer, Lammas, Willowfield, Highams Park and South Chingford Foundation (formerly Rushcroft) schools, collecting this prestigious title in stellar fashion.

The game was littered with stand-out performances; central defender Volen was imperious at the back mopping up every ball over the top and winning everything in the air, while Jameel (striker) was at his predatory best securing another hat-trick cutting the Lammas defence to shreds with his direct running. Our striker Sonny secured a brace that gave Heathcote a platform to take control, with Marcel showing exactly what was needed as a box-to-box midfielder both protecting the Heathcote defence and orchestrating the attack, not to mention scoring what could be considered the goal of the match. However, man of the match still goes to Shawn (our Captain) who once again showed a cool head directing his team throughout, keeping his back line disciplined and maintaining everyone’s focus, demonstrating all the attributes of a great leader to come.

Manager Mr. Wiggins has watched his team develop over the course of two seasons, inspiring him to introduce a new 5-3-2 formation. Under the system the Year 10 team thrived producing probably their most mature game of late. Heathcote eagerly await next season so they can go one further and complete a treble including the Essex Cup.

Mr Wiggins


Our squad on the day comprised of;


Team Captain Shawn Joseph (central defence)

Volen Iliev (cental defence)

Christenvie Mbaki (central defence)

Jake Anderson (wing-back)

Jayden Barrow (wing-back)

Tommy Lawrence (central attacking midfielder)

Tyreece Cyrus (central defence midfielder)

Marcel McIntosh (central attacking midfielder)

Jameel St. Hill (striker)

Sonny Clarke (striker)

Dimitar Topalov (goalkeeper)

Fabian Isopo (striker)

Jack Wells (attacking midfielder)

Kiarn Obileye (attacking midfielder)

Samuel Aggrey (central defence midfielder)

Roder Toprak (utility)

Rhymel Sendall (utility)